Martha Stewart, I Ain’t. Pioneer Woman? Maybe.

Standard

I was so excited to make the meals in my second Home Chef box. I’ve always been picky about meat, so I opted for the two vegetarian dishes this week. Tonight’s meal consisted of macaroni and cheese and roasted vegetables.

The prep and cooking time for this recipe suggested 40-50 minutes. I was skeptical at best. I thought that was way too long to make a vegetarian dish—especially when they suggest 25 minutes to cook chicken!

So, after I immediately began boiling my water, I chopped one zucchini and one tomato. The kit came with two each, but I opted to save them for cooking later this week. Within eight minutes, I had all the vegetables chopped and noodles in the pot. Basically, I was just waiting around for my noodles to cook, so I started cleaning up my mess. How nice to clean as my food was cooking! Within 28 minutes, my meal was finished and the macaroni was just toasting in the oven to crisp up the panko I put on top. A yummy dinner in less than 30 minutes! I can definitely dig that after teaching on a Monday! I also learned how to make a cheese sauce and brown butter. That was exciting enough in itself. Here’s a picture of the final product. The recipe says there’s 2 servings of macaroni, but this is only 1/4 of the pan. Yay for macaroni and cheese all week!

IMG_7860.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

