Where’s the Beef?

Standard

So, the verdict’s in: I like Home Chef much better than Blue Apron. Now, Blue Apron is nice, and it really tests your chef skills. Home Chef is just more friendly for the average cook. Everything is packaged together for the meal, so when it’s time to cook, you just grab your bag of ingredients, recipe, and meat. Then you’re set to cook!

I’ve also found that I can stretch out my ingredients to make more meals since I’m just cooking for myself. The other day, I really wanted a burger. I knew I had some leftover shallots and arugula in my fridge. Plus, I had a bottle of balsamic vinegar I omitted from a recipe. So, I bought hamburger meat, Swiss cheese, mushrooms, and buns to create this masterpiece. I used some leftover potatoes from Easter to make the roasted Parmesan potato wedges. Soooo delicious and super easy! While I’m not a mayo person, this needed a condiment, so I added a tiny bit of mayo to make it not so dry. Here’s a pic of the final result:

IMG_7910Now, not every recipe is a home run! The latest recipe I tried just yesterday was Seared Sirloin with Twice Baked Potatoes. I didn’t time this recipe because I wanted to bake my potatoes instead of softening them in the microwave like suggested. So, I probably spent a good hour working on these potatoes. They came out quite tasty, but they would have benefited from more sour cream and butter. I even added some milk to the potato mixture before I put them in the potato skins to make sure the mixture wouldn’t be too dry. The end result? Very tasty potatoes. As for the steak? I should have gone with my gut and grilled it on my George Foreman grill instead of pan-searing it. Since I only like medium well to well done steak, it took FOREVER to cook! I even had to finish it on the George Foreman after all. It tasted good, but since it was a sirloin, it wasn’t anything fancy. I plan on using the leftover steak to make a Philly cheese steak sandwich. I may even use the second steak to create a salad. Here is what my completed dish looks like:

IMG_7955.JPGSorry for the incredibly messy plate! I was just over it with how long it was taking to cook my steak. Also, I know all you red meat fanatica are dying with how cooked my steak turned out. I just can’t eat it if I see any blood!

My next dish will be a pork tenderloin with fig jam and Brussel sprouts. Pretty excited to get my hands on that recipe!

Leave a comment